Book Nook Cafe discussion

Health-Exercise-Diet > Recipe Thread #1

Comments Showing 1-50 of 565 (565 new)    post a comment »
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12

Donna in Southern Maryland (cedarville922) | 207 comments I thought I'd start a separate recipe folder to make any recipe easy to find; sometimes we can wander off topic! (No, right? Not US!)

Arby's Pecan Chicken Salad

I used to be a manager at an Arby's, so I know what goes in it, but I can't remember in what proportions. Hope this helps!

Roasted Diced Chicken (try Tyson's version in the pouch, tastes identical)
Halved Champagne grapes or any other red grape
Finely diced Celery
Finely diced Jonathan apples
Crushed pecans
LOTS of Mayo
(Don't use the cheap stuff, it has to be Hellman's or Kraft)

Now this doesn't give exact amounts, but Chicken Salad to me is pretty much a "add as much as you have or like, and leave out what you don't like" kind of recipe. It did say in another place that Jonathan apples are best, but you could surely try others. Serve on your favorite multi-grain bread, or eat it 'straight.' Either way, it's delicious!

Donna in Southern Maryland

message 2: by Bobbie (new)

Bobbie (bobbie572002) | 1084 comments I'm OK until you get up to LOTS of mayo. Don't like that but everything else sounds great!!

Barbara

Donna in Southern Maryland (cedarville922) | 207 comments Well, I don't like LOTS of mayo either, Barbara! So when I make it, I will put 'just enough' in! :o)

message 4: by Alias Reader (new)

Alias Reader (aliasreader) | 18836 comments That reminds me of the episode of Roseanne. She is the waitress and someone is taking forever to decide between the tuna salad and the chicken salad. Finally she screams at him and says "what's the difference it's all just mayonnaise anyway !

message 5: by Traveler (new)

Traveler | 42 comments OK, now I have to figure out what Jonathon Apples and champagne grapes are... lol lol