The Sword and Laser discussion

The Three-Body Problem (Remembrance of Earth’s Past #1)
This topic is about The Three-Body Problem
The Three Body Problem > TTBP - human computer, spoilers, middle of book

Comments Showing 1-26 of 26 (26 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

Melinda | 4 comments I am not tech savvy and therefore ignorant as to the inner goings on inside my computers. I found the scenes in which Newton and co. create a computer, using all familiar computer terms, with sets of people holding flags to calculate complex problems neither comprehensible nor believable. So I'm asking those of you with an understating of how these things work, is this feasible?
Overall I'm enjoying all the scientific shenanigans, even the ones I don't fully understand, but I'm really stuck on this. Was someone reading this and thinking, yep, that's exactly how this works?

message 2: by John (Nevets) (new)

John (Nevets) Nevets (nevets) | 1594 comments I'm not an EE, or a person named Sky specializing in computers on this forum (we have 2 of them), but it more or less matches up with my understanding of how at the simplest levels computers work.

This video on Logic Gates may give you a better understanding. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ng8-B...

I still felt that the Calvary bus speed would be an even bigger slow down then they described, but hey who knows it was a fun description.

Tobias Langhoff (tobiasvl) | 136 comments Yep, that's exactly how it works.

The concept of small constituent parts that can only send one of two signals (a bit, 1 or 0) is accurate, and the computer architecture they created with CPU and memory, etc. is the actual architecture the real Von Neumann created.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Von_Neu...

But of course computers don't need to sleep or eat, and I agree that the bus would probably be more of a slowdown.