The Sword and Laser discussion

How to Live Safely in a Science Fictional Universe
2010 Reads > SFU: Architectural concepts in Science Fiction

Comments Showing 1-17 of 17 (17 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Anika (new)

Anika (littleanika) | 4 comments Hello everyone,
I am a Student of Architecture,i am writing my Architecural dissertation on the "Exploration of Architectural Concepts in modern day science fiction helping architects imagine futuristic cities".I need you guys to suggest me some great science fiction/dystopian novels with something to do with architecture and no alien invasions stuff.Suggest anything,it would be a great help. Lets explore this topic together

Tobias Langhoff (tobiasvl) | 136 comments Not sure what you're after exactly, but in Chasm City there's a city (in a chasm) of self-repairing and shape-shifting buildings. Although at the time of the novel the city has have been infected by a nanotech virus that causes the buildings to grow uncontrollably and grotesquely.

message 3: by Anika (new)

Anika (littleanika) | 4 comments Tobias wrote: "Not sure what you're after exactly, but in Chasm City there's a city (in a chasm) of self-repairing and shape-shifting buildings. Although at the time of the novel the city has have be..."

well,it does sound very intriguing.These sort of novels are exactly what i am looking ,Shape shifiting and bio architecture are futuristic architectural concept.I will definitely read it.thanks !

message 4: by Dharmakirti (last edited Aug 22, 2015 05:45PM) (new)

Dharmakirti | 942 comments The first thing that comes to mind is Niven's Ringworld.

The other thing that came to mind was the manufactured hollow world that is the main setting for Iain M Banks Matter.

There are some fascinating descriptions of alien bio-architecture in China Mieville's Embassytown (which is a personal favorite).

message 5: by [deleted user] (new)