Fans of Interracial Romance discussion

Authors/Writers' Corner > Why can't God be in it?

Comments Showing 1-28 of 28 (28 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Michelle (new)

Michelle Onuorah (michelleonuorah) | 45 comments I recently wrote a blog post and would love to dialogue about it.

I'm a writer. I'm a Christian. I like sex. But I haven't had it. I believe in waiting until marriage. But that doesn't mean I want my characters to.

As you can see, I have some conflicting issues going on. My latest release, Type N, has received mostly positive reviews but I did get a few digs for mentioning God - or even worse - Jesus - in the story.

I'm torn because as a writer, all I want to do is write a good story. But as a human, I also want to leave an imprint of myself in my work and a big part of myself is my spirituality. So tell me what you think.

Why can't God be in it? Even if it's a messy, sexy, pre-marital clusterfuck?

Original blog post here: http://www.goodreads.com/author_blog_...

Paganalexandria  | 4037 comments Keep in mind this coming from a backsliding PK. Sometimes Christian things get judged because of what other's view as chronic Christian hypocrisy on the regular, So when I see a conflicting message, my radar goes up. I'll use my main religion pet peeve as an example: Supposed Christians justifying anti-gay stance with bible references, while having pre-marital sex themselves. Sin is sin.