Chicks On Lit discussion

Don Quixote
This topic is about Don Quixote
Archive 08-19 GR Discussions > Don Quixote-unabridged schedule in message 28

Comments Showing 1-50 of 182 (182 new)    post a comment »
« previous 1 3 4

message 1: by Sandi (new)

Sandi | 53 comments Hi all - This is my first time as a coordinator for a group read. We agreed to start on September 1st, but given the holiday I propose that we start on Tuesday, September 3rd. I'll propose a reading schedule later this evening. Sheila promised to help me open the group, but I am also open to a co- lead if anyone feels so inclined.

message 2: by Sheila , Supporting Chick (new) - rated it 3 stars

Sheila  | 3485 comments Mod
A September 3rd start date sounds great, Sandi. Gives everyone a chance to get through the holiday.

So who is in on this read? And what version of the book did you get? I know there are a bunch of editions of Don Quixote, so feel free to get which ever suits your fancy. If you would like to read an abridged version for ease of keeping up, you are welcome to do that too. :-)

I ended up with a newer edition, translated by Edith Grossman, with 940 pages.

message 3: by Sandi (new)

Sandi | 53 comments Here is a proposed schedule. I tried to keep it below 100 pages per week. The proposed schedule is divided by chapters, since we are all likely to have different book versions. The chapters in my book are Roman numerals, so I use those below. Does anyone want me to convert to our modern day numbering system? I propose skipping the week of Thanksgiving to give us all time to catch up and because we are likely to be busy that week. That means we will end before the Christmas holiday.

Let me know your thoughts on this schedule.

Chapters read. Discussion begins

Preface - III. Sept. 3rd
IV - X. Sept. 10
XI - XIII. Sept. 17
XI - XVII. Sept. 24
XVIII - XIII. Oct. 1
XX IV - XXXII. Oct. 8
XXXIII - XL. Oct. 15
XLI - XLVIII. Oct. 22
XLIX - LV. Oct. 29
LVI - LXII. Nov. 5
LVIII - LXXI. Nov. 12