Math is great! discussion

Welcome!

Comments Showing 1-50 of 97 (97 new)    post a comment »
« previous 1

message 1: by Nicole (new)

Nicole  Just a little note to welcome you to the group. I know it's not much yet, but I'm hoping it will grow.

Go ahead and introduce yourself (and add some good books while you're at it)!

----------------
I'm Nicole and I teach 7th grade math in California. I've got a BS in architectural engineering and enjoy reading about math. I find it truly fascinating, and look forward to discussing it. I am not, however, a mathematician, so don't get too technical on me. =)

message 2: by Nicole (new)

Nicole  Hey thanks for the above link. I just checked it out and it looks pretty funny.

Don't worry about discussions being difficult. I'm a middle school math teacher and that's where most of my math reading falls, level wise.

Feel free to share anything else you've read or discovered online. =)

message 3: by Ashley (last edited Feb 01, 2008 06:35PM) (new)

Ashley (readerandwriter) Hello everyone. My name is Ashley and I'm pretty good at math. Don't really read math related books but I do plan to be a teacher and I think it would be useful to be in this group to get good math books that I could use in my teaching when I become a teacher. :). Not only that I can always use some help understanding some math problems for I am taking a math course at my college right now. I think it is fun to get math books at local book sales and do the problems out of them to keep your mind fresh on the different math concepts.

message 4: by Ashley (new)

Ashley (readerandwriter) I'm guessing Math was your best subject in school Nicole?

message 5: by Matthew (new)

Matthew Conroy | 11 comments Hi, everyone, I'm Matt. I have a phd in mathematics, and I am a mathematics lecturer at the University of Washington. I'm not an active researcher, but I do dabble (primarily number theory and probability), and am always up for a good math (or math book) discussion.