Young Adult Fiction! discussion

The Library-(book suggestions) > Y A Books set with teens attending college?

Comments Showing 1-9 of 9 (9 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Beckie (new)

Beckie | 12 comments I can't think of a single current book that is set at a colllege campus? Why is there such a dearth of books in this type setting. As A YA author I would think tons of high school kids would like to read a book about life in college. I have just been watching the FELICITY series on DVD while at the gym on my persional DVD (pathetic I know but one goes to what means one must to get oneself to exercise) and I really have enjoyed this series and I have a book idea that I have been playing with for more than a year now that is set in college. Any ideas? Feedback, or suggestions of books that are set in a contemporary college campus? That aren't just chick lit. Not that there's anything wrong with that.....

message 2: by Laura (new)

Laura (laurahogan) | 16 comments That's not pathetic at all -- I wouldn't even post the stuff I used to watch at the gym.

The only things I can think of are The Secret History by Donna Tartt, but of course that's not YA, and that Kaavya Viswanathan book that turned out to be plagiarized -- I think that one might have been set at a college but I'm not even sure.

message 3: by Trina (new)

Trina (trieb) | 7 comments It's not a contemporary setting, but Pamela Dean's Tam Lin has a young woman going to college in the 1970s. (It's based on the ballad, so it has the Queen of Faerie and Tom the Rhymer as well.)

message 4: by Lisa (new)

Lisa | 6 comments Try M. Apostolina's HAZING MERI SUGARMAN -- the first in a YA series set in college. The first book came out a year or two ago. I believe there are three in the series, though there may be more...

message 5: by Melissa (new)