Chicks On Lit discussion

4872 views
Other Hot Book Discussions > What to read after Outlander?

Comments Showing 1-33 of 33 (33 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Terry (new)

Terry | 3 comments I just got a friend hooked on the Outlander series. She is close to the end, and is looking for suggestions that'll make the Outlander withdrawal a little easier to handle. I read them about two years ago and was in a pretty long mourning period. No other character will ever compare to Jamie, of course, but are there any other books/series that can come close??


Allison (The Allure of Books) (inconceivably) In the Wilderness series by Sara Donati (I think thats the name) has been compared to it a lot...I haven't read it yet, I plan on it soon. I only got the books because they were compared to Outlander.

Or, perhaps the best thing to do is read something completely different.

When I finished book 6 about a month ago, I think I read a Sookie Stackhouse novel or something.


message 3: by Kathy-Diane (new)

Kathy-Diane I'm not sure why, but I read a lot of Maeve Binchey and Rosamind Pilcher after I finished. They are set in the UK, but I also think these authors create wonderful, intricate and lovable characters that you fall in love with and want/need to know everything about. I love getting lost in fictitious lives!

Kathy-Diane
author of LET THE SHADOWS FALL BEHIND YOU
http://kathy-dianeleveille.com


message 4: by Lisa (new)

Lisa | 26 comments I loved the Into the Wilderness series by Sara Donati. Both series are good historical fiction with very charismatic male characters in Gabaldon's Jamie and in Donati's Nathaniel.


message 5: by Jennifer (new)

Jennifer (Fireheart223) | 10 comments Outlander is one of my favorite series! I don't know if, for me at least, there's anything else that could really compare to it, but I have found loads of other types of books to read while I'm waiting for Echo in the Bone (7th book in the series due out *hopefully* this fall!)


message 6: by Corinna (last edited Feb 22, 2009 10:31AM) (new)

Corinna (vegasnative) | 70 comments Bernard Cornwell has some great books, that are right up there with the Outlander series. He has the Sharpe series which is phenominal, maybe even better than Jamie & Claire, and then also a two book series Crowning Mercy & The Fallen Angels. If you liked Outlander I highly recommend The Sharpe Series, I'm trying to think how many books there are, there are a lot (15) but not as big as Gabaldons books.

http://www.bernardcornwell.net/index2...


message 7: by KrisT (new)

KrisT | 553 comments I am reading Graceling by Kristin Cashore and this is an adventure, relationship type book too. It is just one book but i hope there will be more. The main gal and guy are very likeable and I know that nothing can replace Jamie but Po has my attention!! :)


message 8: by Brenda (new)

Brenda (gardengal) | 16 comments I am reading the 5th book in the Outlander series right now. I am sooooooo addicted to them. I am already stressing about being done. Could there be a better man than Jamie????


message 9: by Monica (last edited Jul 20, 2009 02:43PM) (new)

Monica (Imelda85) Hello, Everyone! I am nearly halfway through Voyager! This is my first time reading this series. I have found that so many Outlander fans read these books over and over. There is so much in each book that I could see myself re-reading them to make sure I didn't miss anything! I adore Jamie! :) I really get lost in these books! I'm hoping that I should just be finishing up A Breath of Snow and Ashes in time to pick up book #7!! I believe Echo in the Bone is being released September 22? I'm in no hurry to finish this series though!


message 10: by Laura (new)

Laura | 49 comments Sharon K Penman.....The Sunne in Splendour......


message 11: by Sarah (new)

Sarah (SarahSaysRead) I remember reading something fluffy after I finished the series. I love it dearly, but it takes quite a long time to get straight through them, and I needed a book that was light and quick. I think I re-read "Bet Me" by Jennifer Crusie, and then I read a couple random novels that I had waiting on my TBR list.


message 12: by Angela (new)

Angela Holland (bookaunt) I also love Into the Wilderness by Sara Donati and read it about the same time as Outlander, great author and book


message 13: by Kathy (new)

Kathy  (readr4ever) | 111 comments Laura wrote: "Sharon K Penman.....The Sunne in Splendour......"

Laura,
I just ordered and received this book after reading Josephine Tey's The Daughter of Time. I am now intensely interested in Richard III and his innocence of the princes in the tower murder. Let me know how you like this book. If you'd like, I'll share the titles of some other books I just bought on Richard III.


message 14: by Brenda (new)

Brenda (BrenLouHen) | 30 comments Fireheart223 wrote: "Outlander is one of my favorite series! I don't know if, for me at least, there's anything else that could really compare to it, but I have found loads of other types of books to read while I'm wai..."

The release date is September 09! Can't wait!


message 15: by Suze (new)

Suze (suzed) | 68 comments OK, so I've read (and adored) the Outlander series, as well as most of Gabaldon's other books, also read all of Sara Donati's, and most of Penmans. I've reread the Outlander series and enjoyed it almost as much the second time around - but again, was so sad to see it end. It was like losing friends! I'm still kind of floundering around looking for a series to equal it.

I love historical fiction that enfolds you within the era they're writing about, and is historically accurate (for the most part).

I'll try the Sharpe series, Corinna, thanks for the suggestion!


message 16: by Laura (new)

Laura | 49 comments Kathy wrote: "Laura wrote: "Sharon K Penman.....The Sunne in Splendour......"

Laura,
I just ordered and received this book after reading Josephine Tey's The Daughter of Time. I am now intensely in..."



I loved this book however I read it way back in the early 90's...I have read all of Sharon K. P. books and love them..I do believe I read this one twice...the only other book I ever read twice was Outlander, I will say this I have yet to find a book as good as Outlander...I heard they are making a movie. Glad to be your friend, my daughter loves books about Richard the III.



message 17: by Kathy (new)

Kathy  (readr4ever) | 111 comments Laura wrote: "Kathy wrote: "Laura wrote: "Sharon K Penman.....The Sunne in Splendour......"

Laura,
I just ordered and received this book after reading Josephine Tey's The Daughter of Time. I am..."


Wow, Laura, that's a great recommendation for The Sunne in Splendour. Thanks for that and being my friend. I'll get back to you after I read it, hopefully soon.


message 18: by Starling (new)

Starling It depends on whether she needs something very light to help her accept that the complexity of that series is gone, or if she needs to go into something equally historical or complex.


message 19: by Sandra (new)

Sandra (sandratracyca) | 4 comments I have to recommend "The Bronze Horseman" series of three books by Paullina Simons. It is the first series I have really liked since "Outlander" by Diana Gabaldon. It is a similar genre, historical fiction, but the setting is realitively recent (WWII Russia).


message 20: by AJ (last edited Feb 21, 2010 11:23PM) (new)

AJ (Anersword) | 121 comments I just started The Mists of Avalon but I'm already entranced. I think it might have elements that would interest readers of Outlander. It tends to...celebrate...female power much more than - at the very least - the first book of Outlander which is all I read. Not sure how the rest of the series fares in that department.


message 21: by Sandra (new)

Sandra (sandratracyca) | 4 comments I have read the The Mists of Avalon, and liked it very much. I think it is a good book, but would not consider it to be in the same genre as Outlander (which I think of as historical romantic fiction). Mists is less romantic overall, but still a very good read. I have read every single Diana Gabaldon book out there, twice! Love her. Just finished a different Paullina Simons "The Girl in Times Square", and found it very thought provoking and wonderful as well.


message 22: by Cindy (last edited Feb 25, 2010 10:31PM) (new)

Cindy (cyndil62) | 1774 comments Kathie, (and Kathie's husband!) that sounds like a perfect series to listen to during my commute to work! It's 26 miles; if I get stuck in traffic it can take over an hour to get there.
My car only has a cassette player in it so for Christmas my son got me a stereo/CD player and my husband got me the adapter kit to put it in. Well guess what? Yea, it is NOT installed in my car yet!! And the worst part, my husband (& son) are 'car heads'! They are always working on cars, talking cars, going to car races, etc. My husband has an old Nova that he completely restored and our son has had a couple old Mustangs. But my car evidently just doesn't make it onto their 'list'!!
Did I mention that my husband is also a carpenter? Does that tell you anything about the state of our home? :-)

Anyway, thanks for mentioning the Outlander series on audio!


message 23: by Cindy (new)

Cindy (cyndil62) | 1774 comments I just happened to think of the Father Tim/Mitford series of books by Jan Karon. My friend at work gave me the first one to read, but I haven't gotten to it yet. I was driving a different car for a couple weeks and found Home to Holly Springs on CD and started listening to it. I thought it was the first one! Well come to find out it is the last one!! Anyway, it was good!
The first one of this series is At Home in Mitford.

I'll have to tell Jeff about your husband's 32 Ford! Do you have any pictures??


message 24: by Kristin (last edited Mar 22, 2014 12:22AM) (new)

Kristin Everitt | 1 comments Allison (The Allure of Books) wrote: "In the Wilderness series by Sara Donati (I think thats the name) has been compared to it a lot...I haven't read it yet, I plan on it soon. I only got the books because they were compared to Outland..."
I have read the Outlander series 3 times and I have purchased the first book for everyone whom I have recommended it to. Recently someone pointed me to Sara Donati (which is just a pen name for the Into the Wilderness Series). Diana Gabaldon herself praises the series on the cover of a few of them. In the first book there is even a one paragraph mention of young Ian, Jamie and Claire.
The stories begins primarily around the same timeframe (or a fe years after) the Fraser's were living on the ridge (before the year 1800)and the tribe in these books are the same tribe - adopted by the Mowhak, that young Ian had married into, but with different characters. Lots of similarities, a strong female lead, an interesting and passionate love story, with a lot of historical fiction about the War in 1812, lots of drama and action as well as suspense. Like Diana, Sarah as the gift for creating a strong attachment to her characters and their lives. Her subsequent books include the original characters but feature a larger focus on the development and stories of family members of the original, and many new and exciting adventures and love stories.
I don't believe that I could honestly love anything as much as Outlander, but I won't say that this series isn't as good, it is simply a great read of its own accord, different in as many ways as it is similar, and not as intense.
Many people who love Outlander also tell me that they are fond of the Clan of the Cavebear Series. I have read these also and they are quite fascinating, but can also be combersum in the narrative as the author goes to great and very long winded details to describe things such as tools or scenery or crafting techniques. Also, in terms of reminding the reader of relevant information from a previous novel that pertains to the current novel (or maybe also to assist readers who haven't picked of the series from book one) things can become very repetitive. For all of these reasons, I have gone broken my own rules with this series and have scanned and skipped over numerous pages that in no way contribute to the actual story. To be fair though, for people who have a genuine interest in the early history of man and evolution dating back to the neandrathols, then all of dialogue about scenery, the art of early weapon and tool making might interest you. In particular, you could probably write your own history book just on the art of flint napping.
I really enjoyed Ken Folleti Pillers of the Earth books as well and look forward to reading his newer stuff. If anyone has any series suggestions about any good historical fiction that a huge Outlander fan could really sink their teeth into, I would be much obliged. Thanks
- Kristin


message 25: by Andrea (new)

Andrea | 1 comments I found a good list of what to read after Outlander here:
http://outlanderaddiction.com/2013/08...


message 26: by Sibaprasad (new)

Sibaprasad Dutta | 25 comments Thanks, Andrea. It's good.


message 27: by Sibaprasad (new)

Sibaprasad Dutta | 25 comments Thanks, Andrea. It's good.


message 28: by Petra (new)

Petra | 1267 comments OMG...not The Bronze Horseman. That was real rubbish.

Others on that list look really interesting. Thanks!


message 29: by Mubera (new)

Mubera D | 1 comments Angelique by Anne Golon.....


message 30: by Rebecca (new)

Rebecca I loved the Bronze Horseman. I thought it was an amazing love story. I am reading Into the Wilderness but am not far into it but so far its not very thrilling.


message 31: by Ida (new)

Ida Mårtensson | 1 comments Take to reading The Ascendance Triology: 1 The False Prince, 2 The Runaway King & 3 The Shadow Throne if you have not already. I read it before Outlander and it works just as well either way between Sage and Jamie. but Jamie wins by a ten mile'stone.


message 32: by Stefanie (new)

Stefanie Magura (stefmagura) | 1 comments The Proud Breed by Celeste De Blasis. Also her Swan Trilogy which includesWild Swan, Swan's Chance, and A Season of Swans. Both of these cover the marriage of a main couple and their children and grandchildren over many years. And they are historical in nature too. The only thing is you may have to get these used.


message 33: by Paul (new)

Paul Ragmund | 1 comments I just recently finished reading the book #6 of the Outlander series. It's so amazing, and I actually can't wait for the next. Outlander got me on the Historical Fiction trip. If you'd like some recommendations: The Sign of Change (A Historical Fiction Romace about France in the 18th century) and Cold Mountain (A love story at the time of Civil War)

Those are the books that I enjoyed reading after "A Breath of Snow and Ashes". Hope I could help :)


back to top