Josh Neufeld

Goodreads Author


Born
in New York City, The United States
Website

Twitter

Genre

Influences
Harvey Pekar, Joe Sacco, Hergé

Member Since
September 2007


Josh Neufeld is a comics journalist known for his graphic narratives of political and social upheaval, told through the voices of witnesses. He is the writer/artist of the bestselling nonfiction graphic novel A.D.: New Orleans After the Deluge (Pantheon). In addition, he is the illustrator of the bestselling graphic nonfiction book The Influencing Machine: Brooke Gladstone on the Media (W.W. Norton). He was a 2013 Knight-Wallace fellow in journalism at the University of Michigan. Neufeld is a Xeric Award winner, and his work has been nominated for a number of other awards, including the Eisner and the Harvey. His books have been translated into numerous languages. Neufeld lives in Brooklyn, New York, with his wife, the writer Sari Wilson, a ...more

[image error]My good friends at Literary Safari are producing an ongoing Instagram graphic narrative that you need to check out. It’s at instagram.com/williambutlerms and it’s a serial work of dystopian fiction about… school shootings.


The premise of the narrative is that williambutlerms is the official Instagram of the the fictional William H.G. Butler Middle School, a school that has suffered...

Read more of this blog post »
 •  0 comments  •  flag
Twitter icon
Published on August 10, 2018 14:40 • 1 view
Average rating: 3.77 · 6,308 ratings · 1,014 reviews · 20 distinct worksSimilar authors
A.D.: New Orleans After the...

3.80 avg rating — 3,043 ratings — published 2009 — 5 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
A Few Perfect Hours and Oth...

3.15 avg rating — 67 ratings — published 2004
Rate this book
Clear rating
Flashed: Sudden Stories in ...

by
3.78 avg rating — 32 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Vagabonds #2

4.50 avg rating — 2 ratings — published 2006
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Vagabonds #1

2.67 avg rating — 3 ratings — published 2015
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Influencing Machine: Br...

by
3.85 avg rating — 2,503 ratings — published 2011
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Big Feminist BUT: Comic...

by
3.18 avg rating — 303 ratings — published 2013 — 4 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Syncopated: An Anthology of...

by
3.68 avg rating — 157 ratings — published 2009 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
9-11: Emergency Relief

by
3.56 avg rating — 71 ratings — published 2002 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Schmuck

by
3.54 avg rating — 41 ratings — published 2015 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by Josh Neufeld…
The Vagabonds #2
(1 book)
by
4.50 avg rating — 2 ratings

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

Josh’s Recent Updates

Josh is now friends with Eliza Amon
Josh rated a book it was amazing
Into the Storm by Tristram Korten
Rate this book
Clear rating
I learned so much from INTO THE STORM, which reads like a thriller despite it being all true. At first glance, this is about the tragic sinking of the cargo ship El Faro, which went down with all hands in October 2015 during Hurricane Joaquin. Weirdl ...more
Josh rated a book it was amazing
The Choke Artist by David Yoo
Rate this book
Clear rating
Josh rated a book it was amazing
Into the Storm by Tristram Korten
Rate this book
Clear rating
I learned so much from INTO THE STORM, which reads like a thriller despite it being all true. At first glance, this is about the tragic sinking of the cargo ship El Faro, which went down with all hands in October 2015 during Hurricane Joaquin. Weirdl ...more
Josh rated a book really liked it
Darkroom by Lila Quintero Weaver
Rate this book
Clear rating
Lila Quintero Weaver’s Darkroom is an impressive debut work. A memoir in the vein of Alison Bechdel’s Fun Home and Howard Cruse’s Stuck Rubber Baby , Weaver’s mesmerizing tale is matched by her accomplished drawing and design skills. Darkroom is t ...more
Josh rated a book really liked it
Nat Turner by Kyle Baker
Rate this book
Clear rating
Josh and 90 other people liked Hannah Garden's review of This One Summer:
This One Summer by Mariko Tamaki
"The huge bummer of the graphic novel is that someone labors for ages over their creation and then you sit down with your pint of Chubby Hubby and make mincemeat of the both of them within the hour. I always feel a little awful about it, and this i..." Read more of this review »
Josh rated a book really liked it
Doctor Strange by Brian K. Vaughan
Rate this book
Clear rating
Flashed by Josh Neufeld
"A combination of some of my favorite formats, what could go wrong. In fact, nothing. This was a wonderful collections of stories and comics that not only combined to create something greater, but also had elements of improv that I enjoyed as well...." Read more of this review »
Flashed by Josh Neufeld
"This is a lovely book in so many ways. Josh Neufeld and Sari Wilson had the enviable job of sparking collaboration between writers of comics and writers of prose. They took a handful of "seed" works and asked artists to grow a new work from the se..." Read more of this review »
More of Josh's books…

Topics Mentioning This Author

Matt Groening
“What I’ve noticed in a lot of other cartoonists is a sullen resentfulness about their lack of attention and tiny checking accounts. I vowed back in the days when I had no money that I would not allow that kind of bitterness to overtake me. . . . Cartooning, in general, is a very solitary occupation, and it breeds all sorts of self-punishing thinking”
Matt Groening
tags: comics

E.B. White
“New York is the concentrate of art and commerce and sport and religion and entertainment and finance, bringing to a single compact arena the gladiator, the evangelist, the promoter, the actor, the trader and the merchant. No one should come to New York to live unless he is willing to be lucky.”
E.B. White

Joe Queenan
“A friend tells a story about taking his ten-year-old son to a Jets game. The game was being played during a driving rain on a freezing cold day, and the Jets lost by twenty points to a team they were supposed to beat. As they headed toward the exits, the boy looked up, with tears in his eyes, and asked, 'Dad, why are we Jets fans?”
Joe Queenan, True Believers: The Tragic Inner Life of Sports Fans

190802 Reading Alternatively — 37 members — last activity May 29, 2016 10:03AM
This is the official Goodreads group of The Comics Alternative podcast. We would like to use this as a forum for our listeners who would like to read ...more



No comments have been added yet.