Idabel Allen

Jennife...
7,801 books | 1,148 friends

Melissa
771 books | 5,001 friends

Christi...
214 books | 3,958 friends

Jolene ...
136 books | 1,285 friends

Dionne
167 books | 3,276 friends

Steena ...
602 books | 1,682 friends

Sara Burr
267 books | 3,850 friends

Hope Welsh
316 books | 735 friends

More friends…

Idabel Allen

Goodreads Author


Born
The United States
Website

Twitter

Genre

Influences
Ray Bradbury, John Steinbeck, William Faulkner, Eudora Welty, Charles ...more

Member Since
August 2010

URL


Idabel Allen serves up the best in new home cooked Southern Literature in the tradition of Eudora Welty, Charles Portis, Willam Faulkner and Flannery O'Connor. 

Idabel brings over fifteen years of experience as a professional writer and editor to the literary table. She attended the Iowa Writers' Workshop Fiction program and is the author of Headshots, Cursed! My Devastatingly Brilliant Campaign and Rooted. Idabel's books are available at Amazon, Barnes and Noble and independent bookstores across this fine land.

When not burrowing in the written word, Idabel is generally up to no good with her family, dogs and herd of antagonistic cows.

To ask Idabel Allen questions, please sign up.

Popular Answered Questions

Idabel Allen Among other things, finding out Harvey Weinstein owns the rights to the Bloom County "Opus" movie.
Idabel Allen Last year, I finally got around to reading The Brothers Karamazov and Crime and Punishment. This summer I want to dive deep into some new fiction. I'm…moreLast year, I finally got around to reading The Brothers Karamazov and Crime and Punishment. This summer I want to dive deep into some new fiction. I'm not really sure what. I've had my head stuck in older fiction for so long, I'm not really hip to anything current. I really like Eudora Welty, Charles Portis, William Faulkner and such. I just finished David Joy's Where All LIght Tends To Go. I enjoyed that, but would like to find something new that had some humor or warmth to it as well. I'm open to suggestions:)(less)
Average rating: 3.92 · 66 ratings · 40 reviews · 5 distinct works
Headshots: A Short Story Co...

3.72 avg rating — 25 ratings3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Rooted: A Washed in the Blo...

4.30 avg rating — 23 ratings — published 2010 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Cursed!: My Devastatingly B...

3.92 avg rating — 13 ratings2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
WANTED: The Roaming Mortician

3.20 avg rating — 5 ratings — published 2012
Rate this book
Clear rating
Cursed! My Devastatingly Br...

it was amazing 5.00 avg rating — 1 rating
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by Idabel Allen…
“Hey, hey, Lady Godzilla, don’t burn me with your fire lizard breath!”

And so begins Cursed! My Devastatingly Brilliant Campaign to Save the Chigg  an epic mortal frenemies adventure and mystery…

14 year old Ginny, the creative girl genius and future award-winning zombie movie screenwriter/director/producer assured her parents she was older now and more mature. There would be no more outbursts...

Read more of this blog post »
 •  0 comments  •  flag
Twitter icon
Published on February 18, 2018 11:30 • 6 views

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

Idabel’s Recent Updates

Idabel Allen is now friends with Rob Bignell
11384344
Rooted by Idabel Allen
"Are you ready for a modern-day Kentucky Greek Tragedy? If so, you won’t be disappointed. I will put up a disclaimer, if you’re easily offended by strong language, you won’t like this. Why? Because the story mixes in hard Southern gentile ways with..." Read more of this review »
Idabel Allen made a comment in the group Creative ReviewsSeeking reviewers for YA novel topic
" Hello - am seeking reviews for my newly released YA novel. If interested, send your email address to idabelallen@idabelallen.net and I will forward th ...more "
Cursed! by Idabel Allen
"How could you not love Lady Godzilla and Mr Crusty pygmy paws?

This book is witty from beginning to end with many a laugh out loud moment woven into the web of this incredible story of friendship. Lady Godzilla (Ginny) tells the crusty pygmy ( Mr..." Read more of this review »
Idabel Allen is now following
7436786
Idabel Allen rated a book liked it
Britt-Marie Was Here by Fredrik Backman
Britt-Marie Was Here
by Fredrik Backman (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
A nice easy clean read. Author does an awesome job of making what on the front end is not a sympathetic character a most endearing character. Great job weaving backstory in, awesome cast of characters and a heartwarming story. All in all, enjoyable.
Britt-Marie Was Here by Fredrik Backman
Britt-Marie Was Here
by Fredrik Backman (Goodreads Author)
progress: 
 
Rate this book
Clear rating
Idabel Allen rated a book liked it
Britt-Marie Was Here by Fredrik Backman
Britt-Marie Was Here
by Fredrik Backman (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
A nice easy clean read. Author does an awesome job of making what on the front end is not a sympathetic character a most endearing character. Great job weaving backstory in, awesome cast of characters and a heartwarming story. All in all, enjoyable.
Idabel Allen rated a book really liked it
Swing Time by Zadie Smith
Rate this book
Clear rating
Idabel Allen finished reading
Swing Time by Zadie Smith
Rate this book
Clear rating
More of Idabel's books…
18788 The Rough South — 476 members — last activity Nov 11, 2017 12:48PM
If you started as a fan of William Faulkner and Flannery O'Connor and then found your way to Harry Crews, Barry Hannah, Larry Brown, Melinda Haynes, D ...more
63470 On the Southern Literary Trail — 1527 members — last activity 1 hour, 54 min ago
Whether you prefer Faulkner, O'Connor, McCullers or more recent authors of Southern Literature such as Clyde Edgerton, Tom Franklin, William Gay, or M ...more
46156 Creative Reviews — 3651 members — last activity 5 hours, 12 min ago
This group is a way to gather together people who like to write book reviews as well as advertise their book review blogs. With enough people we will ...more
62085 Novel Publicity's Author Karma — 344 members — last activity Nov 21, 2015 09:52AM
Novel Publicity’s karmic initiatives are based on the concept of “paying it forward.” If you help your fellow writer, then one day he will help you to ...more
22225 Book Buying Addicts Anonymous — 3294 members — last activity Sep 14, 2018 05:53AM
All are welcome, but this group is meant for those who not only love to read, but those who also love to buy their books to read as well as those who ...more
199979 Blazing Readers & Wordy Writers — 416 members — last activity 1 hour, 10 min ago
Hello, and thank you for taking the time to read this! Here at BR & WW, we have group reads once a month and have monthly writing competitions. You do ...more
50920 Beta Reader Group — 13586 members — last activity 1 hour, 57 min ago
A place to connect writers with Beta readers. Sometimes writers get so involved in the plot they can't see the wood for the trees. Hang on a sec'--tha ...more
104750 PenPal Readers — 1695 members — last activity 23 hours, 0 min ago
This is a group designed to connect people who love to read. Everyone is welcome! Our members are all ages and from ALL OVER THE WORLD! Join, make fri ...more
63354 Harsh Realism — 227 members — last activity May 01, 2017 12:05PM
Literature that depicts the harsher side of life, but in a realistic manner.
26989 Goodreads Authors/Readers — 29076 members — last activity 22 minutes ago
This group is dedicated to connecting readers with Goodreads authors. It is divided by genres, and includes folders for writing resources, book websit ...more
More of Idabel’s groups…



No comments have been added yet.