Aspiring Authors: Writing Group discussion

Current Projects > What are You Working on Now?

Comments Showing 1-5 of 5 (5 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Saoirse (new)

Saoirse (Saoirse_Redgrave) | 26 comments Mod
I'm a fickle writer. I get lots of ideas I promise myself I'll eventually pursue, so I'd like to ask group members to tell us all a little about a writing project or assignment you're currently working on.

What got you into this particular writing project or job?

Is it close to your heart or a "must do?"

What are you doing to keep pushing forward?

~Shannon

message 2: by Heather (new)

Heather | 9 comments I am currently semi-working on my full length book, because I have to have 200 pages by "whenever he eventually tells me." Haha. I write a short story or narrative poem almost every day, so I am not entirely worried, but you know how it is.

It is not necessarily a "must do" because no one is going to kill me if I do not, but it is a "must do" for my heart, definitely. Holding your work in a book form is definitely a thrill and it makes you want to cry, I have learned.

To keep pushing forward I just keep reading. I think this is the most important thing, honestly - reading. Read other authors. Read people you love their writing or people you hate their writing. Attempt other people's styles (even if you are a novel writer, this is beneficial, as many novels have abnormal styles like Cormac McCarthy's or James Frey's.)

-H.

message 3: by Heather (new)