Plague Books discussion

So who is reading what?

Comments Showing 1-38 of 38 (38 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Bettie (new)

Bettie I'm going to crack open Doomsday Book once I've broken the back of the Dirty Washing pile.

message 2: by Bettie (new)

Bettie Alice wrote: "I just started The Last of the Wine as I joined the group for Mary Renault and as the book opens many are dying from plague. Also, many of Norah Lofts books have mentioned of plague and we were ju..."

Hello there Alice - You have definately given me some ideas for my next book splurge *looks longingly at the du Maurier*

Sunshine to you and yours

message 3: by Ruth (new)

Ruth Greetings, all. I'm a newbie in Boston. I just read An American Plague by Jim Murphy--about the 1792 yellow fever epidemic in Philadelphia. How is it that I grew up in Philadelphia and never once heard about this??? And why on Earth did people volunteer to get yellow fever for medical research? This came later, in the 1800s. I also recently read Black Potatoes by Susan Campbell Bartoletti--about the Irish potato famine. It's not quite a plague book, but it has many similarities. Looking forward to plaguarizing with everyone....

message 4: by Bettie (new)

Bettie Im listening to Katherine Swynford by Alison Weir and of course it is drenched in black death. How about the Decameron, has anyone recently read the plague descriptions in there? - it's a long while since I read that.

message 5: by Bettie (new)

Bettie Ruth wrote: "Greetings, all. I'm a newbie in Boston. I just read An American Plague by Jim Murphy--about the 1792 yellow fever epidemic in Philadelphia. How is it that I grew up in Philadelphia and never once h..."

ah-ha - I have just ordered this *rubs handies together in anticipation*

message 6: by Bettie (new)