Challenge: 50 Books discussion

Finish Line 2009! > erin's 50 - an ode to not letting your job own your life

Comments Showing 1-50 of 65 (65 new)    post a comment »
« previous 1

message 1: by erin buchanan (last edited Jan 17, 2009 10:48AM) (new)

erin buchanan | 188 comments I spend more time at work than I do at home (I'm an assistant professor of psychology at the University of Mississippi). I forget that journal articles are not that only things that exist and that there is good writing out there (since students can't always do it!).

This is to make myself do it and cut back on the number of "to-reads" on my list. I read about 6/8 books over the holidays, but that feels like cheating since I wasn't working, so I'll start with what I just finished and go from there! :)

message 2: by erin buchanan (new)

erin buchanan | 188 comments January:
1: The Host A Novel - Stephenie Meyer

message 3: by Dini (new)

Dini erin, I love the title of your thread! It's always good to read something for ourselves once in a while :)

message 4: by Nadya (new)

Nadya (nanaissance) | 51 comments hi erin! :D the subtitle of your thread catches my attention, since i've been working as an editor. So i have to read a lot.

Nice to know you.

message 5: by erin buchanan (new)

erin buchanan | 188 comments Thanks! I think I would go crazy being an editor...reading student papers is enough for me! :)
Dini - I told myself when I was done with grad school, I had to start reading again. Grad school is why I own about 70 unread books.

January:
2: The Alchemyst - Michael Scott

message 6: by erin buchanan (new)

3: Death With Interruptions - Jose Saramago

message 7: by erin buchanan (new)

4: Midnight Sun - Stephenie Meyer

message 8: by erin buchanan (new)

erin buchanan | 188 comments January
5:The Graveyard Book - Neil Gaiman

message 9: by Barbie (new)

Barbie erin, i'm so jealous! how was The Graveyard Book. is it everything its supposed to be?? i still can't get my hands on a copy.