The Next Best Book Club discussion

Newbies Corner > I may be new, but I wasn't born yesterday

Comments Showing 1-50 of 69 (69 new)    post a comment »
« previous 1

message 1: by Rachel (last edited Jan 16, 2009 07:11PM) (new)

Rachel (rachelsessum) | 859 comments Hi, I am pretty new to TNBBC. I actually joined when I signed for GR a few months ago, but really just started posting this week. What a great group!

A few things about me...

1. I am not a spammer, or an author or anything. If I am posting a lot about a book, it is probably because I just finished reading it and loved it so much that I think everyone else should read it too. So PLEASE don't put me in the Spammers Circle in Hell. That would make me very sad. :(

2. I am a really eclectic reader, so I don't tend to follow just one genre (unlike my grandma who really only reads mystery novels).

3. My name is Rachel and I was born and raised in Seattle (and still live here).

4. I am super chatty, really opinionated, and occasionally overbearing (yikes). Please do not hesitate to put me in check if I get too snarky. It happens pretty rarely, but it should be dealt with swiftly.

5. I am like a raccoon; that is, I am easily distracted by pretty, shiny things. Seriously, dangle a paperclip in front of my face and I'll probably bat at it like a cat.

6. I LOVE books about utopian societies (or those that warn against them), a la Fahrenheit 451, 1984, etc. Loved V for Vendetta, really want to read the graphic novel.

7. And last but not least, I am a super geek. I love Stargate (the movie, SG-1, and Atlantis), Star Trek, comic books, anime and fantasy type stuff. I don't speak Klingon, and I have never been to a convention, but I would not rule out the possibility. Except for the Klingon. Even us super geeks have our limits.

So, that is me in a nutshell. I told, you. Super chatty!

message 2: by Angela (new)