Johnson County Library Teen Reading Club discussion

Summer Reading June 11-17 > Abraham Lincoln was largely self taught. What kind of things have you learned outside of school and how/where did you learn them?

Comments Showing 1-15 of 15 (15 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Kate, Young Adult Librarian (new)

Kate (katemcnair) | 58 comments Mod
HTML and web design. I did a lot of it in high school and never took a class until college. I use it today, and really appreciate knowing the language. I learned it mostly through websites like www.w3schools.com.

message 2: by Anna (new)

Anna (themaybird) How to solve a rubik's cube.

message 3: by Regina (last edited Jun 11, 2012 04:49PM) (new)

Regina Yan (reginayanster) | 14 comments Same! You can go to websites like http://www.ryanheise.com/cube/ that give you step-by-step instructions and tricks that help you remember them easily :)

message 4: by Austin (new)

Austin (airjordan) | 22 comments Hmm... well I'm homeschooled so I cook a lot. My mom and dad taught me to cook a bunch of different stuff.

message 5: by Clara (new)

Clara | 16 comments I learned about constellations from my grandma and about Mars/space exploration from some amazing, wonderful scientists and engineers at NASA. I learn a TON of stuff from the library. I love just going to the Non-Fiction section of the Lackman library and browsing for hours and hours. I usually find a lot of interesting books there.. science, physics, history... there's just so much, which is why I love going to the library, because I love learning new things just as much as I love reading stories.

message 6: by Sydney (new)

Sydney | 32 comments I learned right from wrong and life lessons, I know that that sounds cheesy but it's true. So many of my moral values I've learned from experience. Not from teachers telling me that I shouldn't do "bad things".

message 7: by Anna (new)