Brain Science Podcast discussion

Introduce Yourself > Introduction & question

Comments (showing 1-4 of 4) (4 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Dana (new)

Dana Nourie | 1 comments Hi Ginger and everyone,

I'm a long time fan of neuroscience, and was super excited when I discovered the Brain Science podcasts. They fantastic!

I'm not a scientist, but am obsessively interested in most sciences, including neuroscience. By profession, I am in the geek world of computing, and am a community manager for an awesome group of engineers. My hobbies are amateur astronomy, photography, and more computer stuff. In fact, I'm also technical director for secularbuddhism.org, where we enjoy posting studies regarding how the brain creates the perception of self, and on meditation and the brain.

There is something I've been wondering about . . . I hear and read a lot about chemistry of the brain, but what about the electrical aspect. How does the brain generate electricity, why, and how does this effect brain function?

If I missed an episode on this, let me know. Thank you! Dana

message 2: by Zak (last edited Oct 26, 2012 10:47PM) (new)

Zak (zakgrunwald) | 1 comments Hi Dana, welcome to the forum (I'm new here myself). Neurochemistry is closely related to electricity within the nervous system. I'm not sure whether Dr. Campbell covered this topic in one of her podcasts (though I wouldn't surprised if she did, as thorough as she is), but electricity is generated in a neuron via the flow of charged ions (sodium, potassium, calcium).