Tudor History Lovers discussion

Tudor Book Recomendations > Thomas Boleyn: a double edged sword or simply a scoundrel?

Comments Showing 1-9 of 9 (9 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Lana (new)

Lana  (LanaBells) | 47 comments This is most likely a naive question and most probably inaccurate historically, but did Thomas Boleyn play a role in bringing down Anne and George? If so, what possibly was his motivation?

Please forgive me if I have placed this inquiry in the incorrect folder. I am still learning to navigate!

message 2: by Mary (new)

Mary | 69 comments Trying to save his own neck, probably.

Susanna - Censored by GoodReads (susannag) | 1911 comments That seems the most likely motive to me, too, Mary.

message 4: by Lana (new)

Lana  (LanaBells) | 47 comments Thank you for the posts! What a creep! I try not to view historical figures with 21st century eyes but it's a real challenge when it comes to him.

message 5: by Anne (new)

Anne (annecurrin) | 77 comments I agree with Mary and Susanna. I think this man would do anything(and obviously did!) for power!!

message 6: by Mary (new)

Mary | 69 comments I don't think he was unusual for his time. He was ambitious, came from the lesser nobility. But he saw his children, as did most of the nobility, as pawns to be used to increase the family power and wealth. Their happiness was not an issue.

message 7: by Lana (new)

Lana  (LanaBells) | 47 comments Thank you all for the insightful posts. You have given me much to ponder.