The Reasons Why you wrote your book or books discussion

Book Title Choices > Why I wrote my book . . .

Comments Showing 1-5 of 5 (5 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Richard (last edited Dec 11, 2008 10:04AM) (new)

Richard I never wanted to write anything. My history didn't compel me to document anything, I was to busy living. My story is not what transpired but what I learned in life.
I returned to Massachusetts once done with Viet Nam to a circle of friends that were so involved with drugs that it repelled me. Even some of my fellow veterans were willing to experiment with things that they bought from street vermin.
I went to work almost immediately to find that many of my coworkers were also experimenting. That was a dismal experience that drove me into school . . . it was the worst there.
I studied aviation, got married in 1971 and started building a family and rebuilding an old home. Both the studies and the family were diversions from social entanglements that I found untrustworthy.
My son was born in 71 and by 72 I began to have minor neurological symptoms. In 1977 my daughter was born multiply handicapped and found her the love of my life.
By the time she died in 1983 we had moved away from family and friends to Utah. The essential catalyst of the book was when the doctor was telling us that she was terminal, I asked him "What could have given her kidney failure?" . His answer was vague and unacceptable. He actually tried to tell me that "it was a mystery."
It was that instant that changed my life completely. I took a step forward, in an intimidating way and demanded a rational answer and he said, "Heavy metals would do it."
That was it, the book was started but I didn't even know it. In the same year I was diagnosed with MS and all the doctors told me the same . . . "nobody knows". That was never good enough for me. (more to follow)

message 2: by Devon (new)