Connecting Readers and Writers discussion

Writer's Station > Overwhelmed with thinking about starting a blog?

Comments Showing 1-50 of 50 (50 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Everly (new)

Everly Anders | 207 comments Mod
The idea of starting your own blog is an exiting one, but once you start doing a little research, you realize it is also a scary and overwhelming endeavor. Here is an article that breaks down the pros and cons of each of the major blog sites.

http://ellelapraim.com/where-to-blog/

If you have a blog, it would be great if you could share your experience with the sites and let us know what you think.
* This is not a place to promote your blog, just simply talk about your experience to help others.

message 2: by Lani (new)

Lani Young (laniwendtyoung) | 6 comments Ive been blogging for almost 3 years now. I started my blog way before I ever knew i was going to write any books. I wanted a way to discipline myself into a writing habit and also vent regularly about life as a slightly Demented Domestic Goddess. I started off just talking to myself over there and it has grown slowly but surely. I dont blog about writing or publishing stuff. Its a mother/life/help Im losing it kind of blog. Last month my blog had over 20,000 visitors. I agree with the comments below - starting a blog is easy. I use Blogger.com for mine. Its very user friendly. The key is to be consistent and have a uniquely YOU voice. Write about what matters to you, intrigues you, annoys you, makes you laugh and cry. whatever youre passionate about.

message 3: by Everly (new)

Everly Anders | 207 comments Mod
Lani wrote: "Ive been blogging for almost 3 years now. I started my blog way before I ever knew i was going to write any books. I wanted a way to discipline myself into a writing habit and also vent regularly a..."

wow, I could not agree more! Congrats on your blog. Thank you for your useful thoughts.

message 4: by Steven (new)