Goodreads Librarians Group discussion

Book republished as part of a series

Comments Showing 1-16 of 16 (16 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by K.C. (new)

K.C. Shaw (kcshaw) | 3 comments I'm still quite new to librarianing, so I'm afraid to mess something up. I'm not sure how to fix this one. The book in question was first published in 1963, then in the 1970s the author wrote a series of four books with some of the same characters. The 1963 book was republished in 1995 under a different title as the fifth book of the series. Should the 1963 edition remain separate from the series, and only the republished edition be added to the series, or should the 1963 edition and the 1995 edition be combined (that seems drastic, but it may be correct). Thanks!

message 2: by [deleted user] (last edited Nov 14, 2011 12:20PM) (new)

As far as I know you need to keep it seperate. Feel free to correct me if I'm wrong though. Also you are technically not a Librarian because it would say you are one on your profile but it doesn't. :(

message 3: by Jessica (new)

Jessica | 963 comments How different are the 1963 book and the 1995 book? If all that is different is the title then yes, they should be combined.

message 4: by K.C. (new)

K.C. Shaw (kcshaw) | 3 comments Hmm, weird, I've been granted librarian status for a few months now and sometimes edit. I don't know why it doesn't say I am one.

I haven't read both editions, just the original. I'll see if I can chase down the 1995 edition and compare them.

message 5: by [deleted user] (last edited Nov 14, 2011 12:26PM) (new)

I'll look at it what is the book title?

message 6: by Jessica (new)

Jessica | 963 comments K.C. wrote: "Hmm, weird, I've been granted librarian status for a few months now and sometimes edit. I don't know why it doesn't say I am one.

I haven't read both editions, just the original. I'll see if I c..."

If you can that would be great.

message 7: by vicki_girl (new)