THE Group for Authors! discussion

The Craft > Should an unknown author charge $.99 for an ebook?

Comments Showing 1-33 of 33 (33 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Susan (new)

Susan Lerner | 23 comments My question is whether you think there is a big difference between selling for $.99 versus $1.99? I put my short story ebook collection out at $1.99 thinking it was worth at least that, but I've noticed that people often say they've read a book only becaues of the .99 price, and then discovered they liked it. I'm doing a blog tour soon, so I'm wondering if I should lower it, or if that makes it seem worthless?

Amy: PROUD DIRECTIONER (ravinxx) | 13 comments Hi S.B.! I'm not an expert in publishing and pricing, but I am an expert in reading and buying. If a book is priced at $1.99 and I have never heard of it, I would hardly ever buy it. The description of the book counts a lot to me. At a $0.99 price, it seems like a more fair deal. If it is a series, I suggest making the first book $0.99 and the others $1.99. That way, a person can buy the first book without too much trouble, and if they like it, they can buy the others for a different price.
Amy Renee

message 3: by Bridget (new)

Bridget Bowers (bridgetbowers) | 9 comments I'm far from an expert myself, but I've been doing a lot of research, and it seems to be an even mix of authors that feel charging $.99 is the best way to go in order to generate interest and readers that will take a chance at the $.99 price.

I've priced my first book at $2.99 on Amazon in order to participate in the higher royalty percentages as well as the fact that it's a rather lengthy book. Most readers I've seen comment will take a chance on a book between $1.99-$5.99.

Another reason I've avoided the $.99 price to start is many readers are claiming that there is just too much in the $.99 range that tend to steer them clear of that range.