Matched (Matched, #1) Matched discussion

If you lived in a society where everything was decided for you, what would you do? Would you be happy there?

Comments Showing 1-50 of 56 (56 new)    post a comment »
« previous 1

message 1: by Karlie (new)

Karlie My opinion on this question is that I probably wouldn't be happy. I would feel confined and I would get bored very quickly. I mean, I have more songs on my iPod than they do in their whole society! I also think it is very unfair that people have to die at just 80 years old.

Emily Donnellan It's funny because when I was younger I would have thought that a society which restricts everything would be horrible and that I would hate it.

Now though, I think it would be kind of nice for someone to assign me a job, tell me what shows are good, tell me what to eat and when. I think it would relieve a lot of my day to day stress. I am a first year law student though, so I may just be being cynical right now, maybe my answer will be different in a few years lol

message 3: by Dee (new) - rated it 4 stars

Dee But if it was the only thing they had ever known, then they wouldn't know what else is out there in the world -

Emily I would absolutely loath it. I don't follow directions very well, so this society would definitely have an issue with me.

Ziyue Ah no way!! I would hate it if my future was already planned for me when I wasn't even born. There's a word out there and it's called freedom. I wonder if the people in the matched society have ever given a thought to it. U know cause I would just love it to marry a complete stranger and eat poisonous food so I die at 80 years old ( being sarcastic here) .