Disillusionists Re-read discussion

Mind Games (The Disillusionists, #1)
This topic is about Mind Games
Mind Games > Head start

Comments Showing 1-17 of 17 (17 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

Eliza Brand (eliza_b) | 4 comments Since this is the first time I'm reading Mind Games, I decided to get a little head start. I started last night. I thought I'd read the first couple chapters to get a feel for the book. Big mistake, this book really sucked me in and I stayed up way too late. I love it so far. Justine is wonderfully neurotic.

"You know, even hypochondriacs die of horrible diseases. Sometime they even die of the horrible diseases they fear the most."

"People who grew up normal think it's something to be rejected. They're wrong. Normal is a precious kind of freedom, and if you don't have it, it's all you ever want."

Being a nurse I encounter people like Justine every day. The character rings very true. Carolyn Crane has done a wonderful job capturing the almost paralyzing cascade of fear and anxiety a true hypochondriac experiences. And the remorse and guilt they feel about it. Many of them would do almost anything to gain the peace that is offered to Justine.

I can't wait to read more.

Kathy (Kindle-aholic) (kindleaholic) | 31 comments Mod
Happy Reading, everyone! I'll be back later tnight to post my thoughts on day 1 of the re-read.

A little later than I hoped, but I'm here!

THere is something about re-reading where you remember the things that you enjoyed the first time around, the tiny tidbits that don't necessarily pop into your mind right away when you think back on the book, but really contribute to the overall satisfaction.

Right now my favorite: "A lot of men ridicule Sanchez's elegant suits and berets and his unconventional hair..." Made me laugh. I will get back to the why after more folks have read the book. Foreshadowing, that's all I have to say.