Brain Science Podcast discussion

2011 > Intelligence

Comments (showing 1-8 of 8) (8 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Henry (new)

Henry | 7 comments My fascination of the brain science started 6 months ago when I read Time magazine on Singularity (my degree is in EE with a background in Computer Science). I read books written by computer scientists and neuro/bio scientist and listen to the many podcasts offered by Ginger. There is not one definition of intelligence. Wikepedia is the closest that I can associate (understanding). Seek opinion. Some books of interest that I recommend: "On Intelligence by Jeff Hawkins", "Making Up the Mind by Chris Frith", "Brain the Complete Mind", "The Singularity is Near by Ray Kurzweil" and "Emotional Machine by Marvin Minsky". All these books have different view of intelligence/Brain.

message 2: by Ginger (new)

Ginger Campbell (GingerCampbell) | 312 comments Mod
Henry wrote: "My fascination of the brain science started 6 months ago when I read Time magazine on Singularity (my degree is in EE with a background in Computer Science). I read books written by computer scient..."

Thank you for contributing to this group. Intelligence certainly is an example of something that is not easy to define even though everyone thinks they know what it is! I tend to agree with those who argue that human beings have many different types of intelligence.

Also, the more we learn about animals the more we come to appreciate that most are "smarter" than we ever imagined.

message 3: by Henry (new)

Henry | 7 comments Ginger thank you for your reply. I do agree with your comment.

message 4: by Bill (last edited Nov 13, 2011 11:25AM) (new)