Russian Readers Club discussion

What are some of the best translations?

Comments Showing 1-41 of 41 (41 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Brad (last edited Aug 25, 2016 12:57PM) (new)

Brad | 4 comments I was hoping to get your opinions on the best english translations of classic russian literature. Of particular interest for me is Doestoevsky and Chekhov. I know that Constance Garnett is prevalent but not necessarily well thought of. Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated! Thanks! //Brad

message 2: by Dima (last edited Aug 25, 2016 12:58PM) (new)

Dima | 1 comments try Robert Payne's "Fourty Stories". compared it with the Russian versions, and liked it most.

message 3: by Doug (last edited Aug 25, 2016 02:04PM) (new)

Doug | 1 comments I studied Slavic literature in college and moved to Russia two and a half yers ago. The prevailng oppinion in acadamia was that the current team of Richard Pevear and Larissa Volokhonsy were the best. Though my Russian is far from perfect, I generally agree. If they have done a translation, I always choose them. They've done most of the major works, especially by Dostoevsky. They're translations of The Brothers Karamazov, Anna Karinina, and The Collected Tales of Nikilai Gogol especially stand out. Constance Garnett was the first major translator of Russain lit, which is why it's they're so popular, though, you're right, not necessarily great. As for Chekhov, i agree with Dima about Payne.

message 4: by Stephen (new)

Stephen | 4 comments Why specifically are Garnett's translations considered inferior? And what about Pevear's translations make them superior in your opinion? I'm relatively new to Russian literature haven't been able to figure this out. Thanks.

message 5: by Charlize (new)