MobileRead Book Challenges discussion

General Chat > How do I get better at reviews?

Comments Showing 1-26 of 26 (26 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by [deleted user] (new)

I'm reading a book right now that I "owe" a review on. It's not mandatory, it's just that it was an author giveaway and she said that honest reviews would be appreciated.

My problem is that I'm not good with "middle of the road" reviews, and this is a "middle of the road" book. If a book sucks, I can point out why, and if a book is great, I can gush about it, but the so-so books are harder for me to pin down. I feel that if I start listing the issues the book had, the review starts sounding like a "bad" review when it's really not meant to be.

For those of you who regularly review your reads, do you have any pointers for me? How do you describe that intangible "something" that compels you to continue reading and even enjoy a book that actually suffers from a lot of problems? More importantly, how do you make it helpful to the indie author awaiting constructive criticism?

message 2: by MrsJoseph *grouchy*, Resident Book Pusher (new)

MrsJoseph *grouchy* (mrsjoseph) | 3289 comments I think I understand your problem. I had the same problem when I was reading The Voyage of the Minotaur. I liked the book but I didn't like the book. TO make that worse I was the only person on GR who had bothered to review, so I wanted to be fair.

I took a lot of notes. I wrote lists of all the things that bothered me about the book and of the things I felt the author had done well. I decided to drop all the nit-picky things that bothered me and then wrote the review based on everything else.

message 3: by Carrie (Care), Group Founder & Fearless Leader (new)