Brain Science Podcast discussion

note: This topic has been closed to new comments.
FAQ > Welcome

Comments Showing 1-11 of 11 (11 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Ginger (new)

Ginger Campbell (GingerCampbell) | 313 comments Mod
Welcome to the Brain Science Podcast on Goodreads.com.

This Group will be replacing our old Discussion Forum. We will be focusing on books about the brain, psychology, and neuroscience.

message 2: by James (new)

James Ling (Openyoureyes312) | 3 comments I need to speak with Jeff Hawkins. AS SOON AS POSSIBLE! hopefully someone reads this. I'm not quite sure how to type it, I usually just talk and people listen. I'm not a scientist but I am an avid theorist. I look at the big picture. SO lets take a step back and look at the big pictures of our body, and lets explain evolution on a scale that we can actually watch from generation to generation.

We know what muscle memory is, muscle memory is your body adapting to become more proficient at a task the more you do it. It becomes second nature. the term I like to use for this is "Knowing" how to do something, Knowledge is something that you have acquired that you KNOW. Not just information that you can remember. But you know, like tell me how to talk? you can tell me what the body does when we talk, but you probably couldn't tell me "how" to do it. So you have the knowledge of how to talk, but you don't have an understanding. Information you can understand, but Knowledge can only be gained by doing! This is muscle memory, your body, actually your MIND knowing how to best handle the situation because you're done it so many times before that it becomes natural.