Audiobooks discussion

Archives > Simple but dependable audiobook player?

Comments Showing 1-50 of 90 (90 new)    post a comment »
« previous 1

message 1: by Marnie (new)

Marnie (bookexplorer) | 8 comments I'm looking for recommendations on audiobook players that work reliably, have a screen to show the book titles, and bookmark your page. I am new to this, but I'm trying to find a gift for my mom. She is always lugging home the CD sets from the library and actually dragging around a portable CD player to hear books. I want to move her into the 21st century and get some simple technology. Any player advice as I shop?

message 2: by Janice (new)

Janice Marnie wrote: "I'm looking for recommendations on audiobook players that work reliably, have a screen to show the book titles, and bookmark your page. I am new to this, but I'm trying to find a gift for my mom. ..."

I love my Sansa Fuze, which is a very user friendly device. It is a MP3 player, and in the menu lists what books are downloaded, by showing all the "parts" of the book under that title. I use my laptop to download books from the library, or to copy books on CD and then transfer them to the MP3 player. It bookmarks, which was one of my major criteria in choosing which device I wanted. And it lists the downloaded books in the menu. And I found a cheap speaker to hook it to so that I don't have to wear the ear buds when I am cooking or doing something where I am stationery in one room. I was doing the same thing as you describe your mom doing, even lugging a boombox in the car, until I got a new car with CD player. I am slowing joining the 21st century, or maybe the 20th!

message 3: by Yz the Whyz (new)

Yz the Whyz (whyz) | 9 comments Oh...i'll be watching this thread closely.

I love audiobooks, but I only listen to CDs while driving. I've never owned an mp3 player, but I think its time for me to join the rest of the world...LOL.