One Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovich One Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovich discussion

Question pertaining to AP/honors reading lists

Comments Showing 1-23 of 23 (23 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

Jeremy Why wasn't this ever on one of mine?

I graduated high school in '01 and had never heard of this book until my sister brought it to my attention when I was in college.

I just wanted to start a discussion to try and investigate how and why certain books make it into the curriculum but others are overlooked.

I recognize that only a certain number of books can be read in the course of one's education...but still...

message 2: by Al- (new) - rated it 3 stars

Al- huh, I have not heard of this book being required at all.

I read it a few years ago after discovering the Gulag Archipelego, and reading all of those. Then I tried finding all of Solzhenitsen's works (still working on that). After reading Gulag, I called up my mother and demanded to know why I didn't know anything about Stallin (other than he was a bad guy).

So from that perspective, I'm glad to see it being recommended to students...it's an easy introduction to that history.

Jeremy So far my sister is the only person I've known of to read it for class.

It seems like the perfect required read. Short and to the point, without the flowery victorian romanticism that characterizes such standbys as Jane Eyre and A Tale of Two Cities, as you say it is an easy and interesting intro to Stalinist Russia. I think I could go on and on...

In addition, it is difficult for me to recall a book that is executed so flawlessly and un-pretentiously. He is the anti-Steinbeck (though I like Steinbeck for other reasons).

Jeremy Also, I'm not picking on literature teachers. I know they can't expose us to everything.

message 5: by Jen (new) - rated it 3 stars