Writing Historical Fiction discussion

NEW MEMBERS: BEGIN HERE! > Introductions

Comments Showing 1-50 of 394 (394 new)    post a comment »
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8

message 1: by Carla, The Virtually-Real Modern Historical Mod (new)

Carla René (carlaren) | 84 comments Mod
I might as well get the ball rolling.

My name is Carla René, and while I'm a professional stand-up comic and tv/stage actor, I'm also a published author. My first full-length novel, entitled The Gaslight Journal , will be released on Thanksgiving Day in DTP format, and I couldn't be more excited.

I've always sort of been behind trends, and so didn't discover my first Jane Austen until about 10 years ago, and once I did, I found I couldn't get enough. So now I'm also a fan of Edith Wharton, Henry James, Nathaniel Hawthorne and Charles Dickens. I'm currently working on a group of historical fiction short-stories (don't think I've ever seen one in existence) that I hope to pull together into a collection.

I live just outside of Nashville, TN with two whiny cats who treat me as if I'm the hired help.

Welcome!

message 2: by Steven (new)

Steven Wyatt (stevenwyatt) | 1 comments Hi all, just joined Goodreads and I'm posting to introduce myself. I have an historical fiction WiP covering the Great War and Jazz Age Paris on authonomy.com, 'Presumed Killed'. Always happy to chat with fellow HF enthusiasts.

message 3: by Malena (new)

Malena Copeland | 11 comments I just joined goodreads.(1/21/11) What a wonderful idea for a group. I am writing a HF/fantasy piece also taking place in Paris and other parts of France. I am very excited to see other people's WiPs and would love for others to take a look at mine. I am a teacher of 15 years. I taught elementary school, High School Spanish and US History. I also taught religious school for several years. I am particularly interested in the Middle Ages, but I love good writing in general. Nice to find others with the same interests and dreams!