Georgette Heyer Fans discussion

The Books > Black Moth and sequels?

Comments Showing 1-15 of 15 (15 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

Tracy (A Good Novel) Hi, all! I'm a Heyer newbie; I'm just reading my first (Arabella) now.

I had a question I was hoping someone could answer. I got The Black Moth as a free eBook, and it's come to my attention through browsing various Heyers that there seems to be a few sequels to it? Maybe not sequels outright, but stories featuring some of the characters? I know Devil's Cub is one, but I've heard a few different ones have the same characters.

So if anyone could help me out and let me know which ones have the same characters/which order they go in, that would be much appreciated!

message 2: by Christy B, Admin (In Absentia) (last edited Sep 11, 2010 09:53PM) (new)

Christy B (runaway84) | 24 comments Mod
The book These Old Shades per Wikipedia:

These Old Shades is itself a sequel. Heyer's first novel The Black Moth was a melodrama and as a 'sequel' per se would not work in with the plot, she renamed many characters and made them 'shades' of their former selves for These Old Shades.

After These Old Shades is Devil's Cub and then there's An Infamous Army.

These Old Shades, Devil's Cub and An Infamous Army is the Alastair Trilogy.

Tracy (A Good Novel) Thanks so much! That helps a whole lot.

message 4: by Christy B, Admin (In Absentia) (last edited Sep 11, 2010 10:14PM) (new)

No problem!

Also, An Infamous Army is a sequel to Regency Buck, as well.

It took me a while to get all this straight.

message 5: by Elcee (new)

Elcee | 13 comments Actually, An Infamous Army is a true historical novel with the emphasis on the battle of Waterloo. As such it features characters who are previously mentioned in both Devil's Cub and Regency Buck. It can't be regarded as a true sequel to These Old Shades except in the sense that the Alastair family and their decendents feature heavily.