Obsessed with True Crime discussion

note: This topic has been closed to new comments.
Archive > Ask questions from someone that's lived in true crime.

Comments Showing 1-10 of 10 (10 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Jennifer (new)

Jennifer (jennifersternberg) | 16 comments Karen,

When did you start writing your book and how long did it take to get published? Do you think you would ever write about other cases?

message 2: by [deleted user] (new)

Hi Karen
This is so interesting.
If you dont mind me asking, but what exactly happend?

I'm studying criminology at the moment, and we're focusing on South African crime at the moment. I havent been in an actual crime before but its a subject that has always facinated me (if you know what I mean).

In South Africa there are a lot of children who go missing every year and who are never found. I cant even imagine what that must be like.

message 3: by [deleted user] (new)

Hi Karen
Wow, your story just brought me to tears, I cant believe this happend to you. I can guess that it was therapeutic, talking and dealing with such things usually are, but it must have been really hard for you. The guy that still lives in the area, does he live close to you? Was he ever questioned for anything?

Well kids, especially girls, go missing here a lot. Some men kidnap them and cut them for Muti (a "tradinional" remedy for some things using the private parts of humans, but most people know its rubish). Some girls get kidnapped and used as sexual slaves and then are never found.

There was this one guy in South Africa, van Rooyen, he kidnapped many young girls and most of them were never found. When the police cornered him he commited suicide

message 4: by Kelsey (new)

Kelsey (thebestthereis07) Karen,