Martial Arts Fiction discussion

Welcome, please introduce yourself

Comments Showing 1-50 of 86 (86 new)    post a comment »
« previous 1

message 1: by Goran (last edited Aug 17, 2010 01:14AM) (new)

Goran Powell (goranpowell) | 31 comments Mod
I've been studying martial arts for over 35 years and today I teach and train in Goju Ryu karate in London, England. I loved reading Shogun in the 70s and enjoyed the guilty pleasures of Eric Van Lustbader's Ninja in the 80s, but martial arts fiction went a bit quiet in the 90s. In recent years there's been something of a resurgence that's allowed my own work to be published, along with some exciting new material from a crop of authors. I look forward to sharing the best in martial arts fiction, new and old, on this forum.

Goran Powell

message 2: by John (new)

John | 9 comments I've been training in Japanese martial arts for 30+ years. I've been writing both non-fiction (academic analysis as well as general audience material) and figured that fiction was a more effective way to communicate something of the wonder of the Asian martial tradition to a larger audience. My novels Sensei, Deshi, and Tengu have been pretty well received by martial arts readers.John Donohue

message 3: by Charmaigne (new)

Charmaigne | 8 comments I trained in Shaolin Kung Fu as a child and in Goju Ryu karate since 1992. I am a now a 2nd Dan. I work for a library service which is great because I love books!!!

message 4: by Bert (new)

Bert Edens (bedens) | 11 comments I've only been training in martial arts formally for 11 years and am fortunate to have achieved 3rd dan in taekwon-do (but we practice all other things such as groundfighting, throws and takedowns, joint locks, weapon defenses, etc.).

As a kid, I was always around martial arts movies and loved anything I could get my hands on. Actually learned to use some heavy wooden nunchaku by trial and error as a teen. Not recommended. :)