The Reasons Why you wrote your book or books discussion

I write to make people think and to LAUGH!

Comments Showing 1-13 of 13 (13 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Justin (new)

Justin Matott (justinmatott) | 1 comments I have been writing and publishing for about 11 years. I write books for all ages and generally write the kind of kid's books that my boys wanted to read and that I would have read as a boy. Lots of laughter and adventure. Please check them out at www.justinmatott.com or here.

Cheers, Justin M

message 2: by Robin (new)

Robin (therobinreardon) | 3 comments Making people think… That’s why I write, too. And it’s why I write about WHAT I write about. My four books (two published so far: http://www.robinreardom.com) all have gay teenaged protagonists. As a writer, I find that the issue of homosexuality is incredibly rich territory, because even though science proves more undeniably every day that it’s a normal, naturally occurring phenomenon, so very many people allow themselves to be yanked around by the non-thinking part of their brains. Their lizard brain (officially, the R-25 or Reptilian brain) screams bloody murder when they encounter something that’s different from them on a level as profound as sexuality, and they permit gut reaction to trump human rationality.

I guess I want people to stop acting like lizards. I’m not gay myself, and I have no gay kids or relatives that I know of. But my mother imbued in me a powerful sense of justice, and as I said, this issue is so very fertile. It’s also an interesting writing challenge: put myself (a straight woman) into the mind of a gay teenaged boy and be convincing. My fan mail tells me I’ve succeeded. So I’m going to keep going.