The Next Best Book Club discussion

Newbies Corner > Completely New

Comments Showing 1-14 of 14 (14 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Chris (new)

Chris Peel | 37 comments Just wanted to say that I am completely new to good reads and this group, so if you've got any hints or tips I'd be glad to hear them :D

Also, and this is gonna sound stupid been on a book site and everything, but any suggestions for any good books?

message 2: by Lori, Super Mod (new)

Lori (tnbbc) | 9984 comments Mod
Hi Chris, welcome to the group and the site.

That is not stupid at all. Ask, and yee shall receive.
Here are some of my favorites.

Blindness - Jose Saramago
The Cave - Jose Saramago
The Mysterious Island - Jules Verne
The Road - Cormac McCarthy
The Third Policeman - Flann Obrien

for starters.;....

message 3: by Chantelle (new)

Chantelle (chantelle13) | 90 comments Hi Chris. I'm a newbie too. What kinds of books do you like to read?

message 4: by Chris (new)

Chris Peel | 37 comments Glad to talk to another newbie Chnatelle, but as for what books I like I have to say I'll try anything. My favourites are 1984 by George Orwell and The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck. However I'm really up for anything. How about you?

And I've heard good things about both the Road and the Third Policeman, I'll have to take a closer look at them.

message 5: by Marci (new)

Marci (iread49) | 215 comments Welcome Chris!!

message 6: by Sheila (new)