Chick Lit Writers discussion

Plot > Basic Plot

Comments Showing 1-44 of 44 (44 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Alicia (new)

Alicia (diva2416) I figured if any one wanted to throw out even the basic ideas of what they were working on they could do it on here. Ask for help and opinions. It is up to you how detailed you want to get.

message 2: by Alicia (new)

Alicia (diva2416) I am actually working on a memoir like book, but that right now isn't my primary focus.

I am not afraid parts of this are a little cliche after reading some of that other page, however, some of this I loosely based on my own life so it is true.

I believe my idea is a little different because it is from POV of both the woman and man. It also starts in the present and then is a series of flashbacks to reflect the history these to people have together.

I have a whole legal pad hand written but I have to get typing more, I am a serial editor...every time I write a new page I go back and completely rewrite it...until it is 3 pages longer.

message 3: by Suzanne (new)

Suzanne | 50 comments I have a couple ideas but I haven't written anything down yet.

One of my ideas has to do with twins... about a girl who doesn't know she has/had a twin.

Another idea is about a teacher, sort of comparing how students in her class act versus how she was back when she was their age, and how much things have changed. Plus dealing with her own issues while seeing what kinds of things her students deal with. Sort of a YA and chick lit combination.

Obviously these are just early ideas. I haven't actually sat down and made outlines or anything yet.

message 4: by Alicia (new)

Alicia (diva2416) I really like the teacher idea, I definitely haven't read a lot from that sort of POV.

message 5: by Suzanne (new)

Suzanne | 50 comments Thanks Alicia :)

message 6: by Cathy (new)

Cathy (cgraceh) | 236 comments Mod