Terminalcoffee discussion

Sharing Time: > Weird Questions People Ask You/You've asked/You've Heard Asked

Comments Showing 1-26 of 26 (26 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by RandomAnthony (last edited Feb 23, 2010 05:49AM) (new)

RandomAnthony | 14536 comments I was on slate this morning and I saw this question on their little manners column:

Second Tour: I am a US Soldier getting ready to come home from my second tour. Occasionally I get asked an infuriating question: "Did you kill anyone?" No, I have never killed anyone and hope to God I never have to. I am quite happy being a helicopter mechanic. Prudie, would you please get the word out that asking a service member if they have ever killed anyone is terribly inappropriate and just downright rude?

Emily Yoffe: I am happy to help you spread this word. When you get asked this question, please feel free for the sake of your fellow soldiers, to say that this is not a subject people in the armed services want to discuss casually, so you will decline to answer and you hope the questioner will respect the uniform enough not to ask it of others. And thank you for your service.

http://www.slate.com/id/2245630/

Who in the hell would ask that question? Ok, maybe I would, if I was drunk and knew the person really well. I have shitty manners, apparently. And that got me thinking...what weird/inappropriate questions have you asked/been asked/heard asked?

Sometimes I get weird teaching questions. "Teaching is pretty easy, right?" Dude, come do my job for a couple weeks. You'll see how easy it is. Put on a fucking show for hours a day. Motherfucker. Or "How come kids don't know how to read today?" Jackasses. Check the research. That's not true. I try to keep that in mind before I make assumptions about others' fields now.

And...you?

message 2: by [deleted user] (new)