To Kill a Mockingbird (To Kill a Mockingbird, #1) To Kill a Mockingbird discussion

Lit Crit Question

Comments Showing 1-13 of 13 (13 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Samuel (last edited Aug 25, 2016 11:02AM) (new) - rated it 4 stars

Samuel This is one of my favorite books. My cat's name is Scout after Miss Jean Louise. It's been on my mind lately because I'm studying race in the US during the period when the book takes place. In the shower the other morning, a question crossed my mind. Is there a metaphorical relationship between the story of Boo Radley and the story of Tom Robinson? Does Boo's character stand as a metaphor for the South in the years between Reconstruction and Civil Rights? Or am I reading too much in to a simple story. I promise that this is not something I have been assigned to think about (although I think it would make a great test question). But if anyone has ideas, I'd love to hear them.

message 2: by Mandy (last edited Aug 25, 2016 11:02AM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Mandy I don't think Boo is a metaphor for the south during Reconstruction and Civil Rights. If you're going to concentrate on Boo and Tom Robinson, I would concentrate on them being mockingbirds, and that they are precious to our society. They do nothing but sing just like mockingbirds. I also think that Harper Lee uses them to show that the few and the great people in our world, are the people who you least expect them to be.

message 3: by Lydon (last edited Aug 25, 2016 11:03AM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Lydon I agree that looking at them as metaphors for mockingbirds is probably more accurate, but the book is steeped in the echoes of reconstruction.
If you see something in the novel, there's nothing invalid about that. Reading is, after all, about constructing new meaning from a text.
I'm teaching this book to my 7th graders and they're always finding interesting new things.