Young Adult Book Reading Challenges discussion

Uglies (Uglies, #1)
This topic is about Uglies
Uglies > Possible Spoiler Discussion Question

Comments Showing 1-13 of 13 (13 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Nick (new)

Nick (nickqueen) | 20 comments The Rusty civilization collapsed because of its dependence on oil. In what ways is your lifestyle dependent on oil and gasoline? How easily would you survive if it all disappeared one day?

lionlady | 32 comments Getting to work is a 45 min. drive. I'd be sunk.

Ms. Hicks | 25 comments Ditto. I take public transportation - but it takes me an hour on a good day to get into the office. If this really did happen I would be able to telecommute every day - that would be nice ;). I'd certainly get more exercise.

message 4: by [deleted user] (new)

Hmm, well, as a student, I suppose it would indirectly effect me, but I know for sure my parents would go down the drain-my father commutes an hour to work and an hour back, and my mother drives all over the place irregularly.

Diane (dianes) I drive a half-hour to get to work, so it would have a big effect on me. However, my husband is close enough to his work that he could ride his bicycle to work if he had to.

message 6: by Angie, YA lovin mod!! (new) - rated it 2 stars

Angie | 2687 comments Mod
I think if as a society we had to give up oil we could. Gas right now in the US is hitting near $4.00. People are kinda upset but not really yet. I wonder how it will be when it hits $6.00? Will people start having to have to take public transportation? I think Kirsty can give us an insight on the UK. I hear their public transportation system is excellent.
I myself would have a hard time with it. Where I live it is a big city but the public transportation isn't all that great. So i have to drive everywhere myself. We use oil to mow our lawns... so I would have to have a xeroscape yard. I thought the book was good at pointing out our dependence on oil.