Beta Reader Group discussion

Writing Advice & Discussion > Beta Reader Advice

Comments Showing 1-7 of 7 (7 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by The Secret Bookworm (last edited Apr 29, 2015 05:23AM) (new)

The Secret Bookworm (thesecretbookworm_) | 4 comments Hi,

I have recently come across beta readers and wondered if anyone had someone advice on how to get in to it?

What makes a good beta reader?
What does an author look for from a beta reader?
How to get in to it?
What do beta readers look for when reading books?

I'm not looking to make any money and have no professional 'editing' experience.

Thanks in advance for all your answers, look forward to reading them :)

*sorry this is my first time posting, I've read the rules and think I have posted in the right section but please forgive me if it's wrong!

message 2: by Emily (new)

Emily | 80 comments To me a good beta reader gives their honest opinion on the story. If there is something in the manuscript that seems off the wall or out of character for one of the characters or if there are things in the plot that are missing and your like hey what happened with this part? Sometime authors are so close to the story themselves they don't see something. Or I know a few times I cut a scene and not realized it took something important out that I should add somewhere else to make sense later.
Some beta readers point out typos, but it isn't required so don't worry about that. As an author I always enjoy getting a manuscript back with notes telling me not only the parts that need work, but also parts they liked.
I also have had beta readers just send me an email with their overall impression of the story, and that's fine too. Basically all you need to do is give feedback to the author. You are like a focus group sort of so they can kind of get a feel of what they need to work on.