Goodreads Authors/Readers discussion

Author Resource Round Table > Write drunk, edit sober.

Comments Showing 1-34 of 34 (34 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Victoria (new)

Victoria Zigler (toriz) | 2892 comments Nope. I don't drink alcohol in general though.

message 2: by Charles (new)

Charles Hash Its not necessarily a bad thing until the letters start swimming.

message 3: by Groovy (last edited Apr 27, 2015 08:18PM) (new)

Groovy Lee | 27 comments Are you talking about writing drunk for real? Or is it metaphorical for writing fast without agonizing over it just to get the story down, like Cristine states, and then going back and editing, editing , editing, etc.,. If so, then I'm a drunk writer, and edit sober. But if you meant for real, then no.

It seems as if drunk writers don't fare too well.

message 4: by K.P. (new)

K.P. Merriweather (kp_merriweather) | 276 comments i do used to do that errday all day :p
now my poor liver cant handle it and i limit my tom collins consumption to bs company meetings.
i cranked out 80 novels during my booze painkiller speed herion tripping balls phase and now that im out of steam, im editing the stuff. only two i had to trash (so far) due to sheer fuckedupedness and unworkability. im eventually getting round to them all...

message 5: by K.P. (new)

K.P. Merriweather (kp_merriweather) | 276 comments and sometimes i still get kite levels to get through blocks when i go through developmental trying to recapture that headspace and figure what tangent i was on (i kept solid notes but after edits major changes were made and then a new outline had to be drawn). success 80% so far. other times the aha moments happen in odd places (doing yard work, washing dishes, walking to the store, strolling the park, in the shower, on the can, recovering from hangover...)

message 6: by Sylvie (new)

Sylvie | 55 comments Not recommended for addicts.

message 7: by Amber (new)