Editors and Writers discussion

What are you willing to spend?

Comments Showing 1-7 of 7 (7 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Emily (new)

Emily | 18 comments Hello fellow authors and editors.

I have been running several sales for my editing business and am now currently booked until the end of June (thank you to all the authors). Eventually, I would obviously like to charge my regular prices. I currently price my services for around 0.005 a word for full copy/developmental editing. I'm an author, I have an editing certificate, and I am a former journalist--I feel I'm qualified for that price.

In your experience what is a good price for editing. I feel my price is not outrageous, but understand even a low price can add up for 100,000 word novels.

I'm interested to know how other editors have phased into their regular prices after sales?

Thank you for your advice!

Emily
www.emmyedits.com

message 2: by Krystal (new)

Krystal (krystallee6363) I generally decide what I think the job is worth, then demonstrate value for money with a free sample. Unfortunately, a client being unable to afford the price doesn't necessarily mean your services are worth less. As my business is less structured at the moment, I do often find myself giving generous discounts because I'm excited about doing the work, so am willing to work to the client's budget, but obviously if this is the job that puts food on the table then you need to either convince the client you're worth the money or find a different client. It's a tough world, but we do it because we love it, and if we can get that message across the clients will understand why we are worth what we charge! Best of luck to you. :)

message 3: by HKelleyB (new)