Support for Indie Authors discussion

Archived > Requesting advice from YA/Middle-Grade Authors: Tragedy

Comments Showing 1-31 of 31 (31 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Iffix (new)

Iffix Santaph | 324 comments I am going to take a major leap here and without too much spoilage, I am going to ask for your thoughts on my current WIP.

The story is the 2nd in a middle-grade/YA series. It has been completed and it ends in a very heart-wrenching tragedy. (Painful death of a character.)

It is done with sensitivities in mind and the characters will learn to cope with the pain; it may even make them stronger. But I'm still trying to justify it in my mind as I have never written a tragedy before.

Is this sort of thing okay in the middle of a series? Does it betray reader trust? And please keep in mind that this story is written for an 11 to 14-year-old audience.

Thank you for your advice.

message 2: by Christina (new)

Christina McMullen (cmcmullen) I may be the wrong person to answer this because I tend to pull my punches, but JK Rowling did it and I dare say the Harry Potter books are already classics.

message 3: by Dwayne, Head of Lettuce (new)

Dwayne Fry | 4333 comments Mod
Iffix wrote: "Is this sort of thing okay in the middle of a series? Does it betray reader trust?"

I can't see a reason you shouldn't do it. Death is a part of life and it's a part that children sometimes have to deal with, whether a pet, grandparent, parent, peer, etc. You say your book is sensitive and deals with how the characters cope with their pain. There you go. Your book may help someone going through the same kind of pain.

message 4: by Iffix (new)

Iffix Santaph | 324 comments Thanks to both of you for the feedback.

message 5: by Riley, Viking Extraordinaire (new)

Riley Amos Westbrook (sonshinegreene) | 1510 comments Mod
...Yeah, I'm in the crowd that refuses to pull punches. So, I say drop that hammer, and make it hurt.

message 6: by Iffix (new)