Goodreads Authors/Readers discussion

34 views
Author Resource Round Table > On Finding the Perfect Editor or Graphic Designer

Comments Showing 1-8 of 8 (8 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Ricardo (new)

Ricardo (ricardofayet) | 9 comments Here's a quick message to present you Reedsy! We are building a community of top publishing professionals (editors, illustrators and soon marketers) to work with authors: https://reedsy.com/

Reedsy is very curated: so far, 200 amazing publishing professionals selected among 3,000 applications. They are coming from the best publishing houses and have about 4,000 books in their portfolios. Here are some of them:

Editors:
Jane Friedman: https://reedsy.com/jane-friedman
Rebecca Heyman: https://reedsy.com/rebecca-heyman
Kiele Raymond: https://reedsy.com/kiele-raymond
Averill Buchanan: https://reedsy.com/averill-buchanan
Tom Flood: https://reedsy.com/tom-flood

Designers:
Mark Karis: https://reedsy.com/mark-karis
Nicole Caputo: https://reedsy.com/nicole-caputo
Daniel Cullen: https://reedsy.com/daniel-cullen
Mark Ecob: https://reedsy.com/mark-ecob

Any thoughts or comments are more than welcome!


message 2: by Richard (new)

Richard Sutton (richardsutton) | 198 comments There is an ages-old expression of advice in the design business that I've kept in my head since I first took marker pens to a pad of visualizer paper. It has served me very well over the years, and is something anyone who wants to negotiate or contract with a graphics/formatting professional needs to remember:

Make a list of three points:

Good
Fast
Cheap

Now pick two. You can only get two at a time.


message 3: by Ricardo (new)

Ricardo (ricardofayet) | 9 comments Totally agree, Richard. All freelance graphic artists on Reedsy are good and can be fast ;)


message 4: by Krisz (new)

Krisz (krisznadasi) | 16 comments Talking about editors, I've worked with Book Helpline and they were fast, nice, professional and not so expensive! I'd gladly recommend them to anyone :)


message 5: by James (new)

James Erith (jameserith) | 10 comments I am a Reedsy fan - and found my editor, John Hudspith, after looking at five other great matches on Reedsy. What a blessing to have such a quality choice of top pro's - all with their own styles, prices, speed etc. under one roof.
Great stuff, Ricardo. A real game-changer for those of us doing this seriously.
James Erith


message 6: by Ricardo (new)

Ricardo (ricardofayet) | 9 comments Thanks a lot for the kind words, James! John is certainly a fantastic editor, and ALLi member, too. I'm glad that this need we identified for serious writers exists indeed and that we're making it easier. Your comment made my day!


message 7: by S. (new)

S. Aksah | 387 comments Will have to check that out. Ive already have an editor but I think my cover need a proper do.


message 8: by S. (new)

S. Aksah | 387 comments skint that I am though..


back to top