THE Group for Authors! discussion

Zenny Daye
This topic is about Zenny Daye
General Discussion > Should I delete negative reviews now that I'm an author?

Comments Showing 1-12 of 12 (12 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Zenny (last edited Oct 05, 2020 12:49PM) (new)

Zenny Daye (zennydaye) | 6 comments So... I started a goodreads account a while ago to keep track of all the romance novels I read, because I realised they were all starting to blur together. I'd be about a quarter way in before I checked my reader history to see that I already read it a year back for example.

I don't review all, if I'm not at a computer when I'm done, I will forget after about a day, but I've been trying to track them all.

My average rating is probably <3. I try to leave detailed reviews of why I didn't like a book, not because I want to "drag" the author, but I just try to really think it through. I have no followers and I just started on friend requests yesterday -- the reviews were little notes-to-self. I get very upset when I read a book that mucked it, imo, so I try to introspect and figure it out. I thought it would be good craft-wise.

And then this summer, I realized that sometimes you just have to push ahead and write the book you want to read. So I did that, and had fun all the way.

But now that I'm an author, I don't want to look as if I was "negging" other books to make my book look better. I was going to leave an "author review" for myself but then realized that it might look exactly like that. Is that even a good thing to do, review your own book? I mean, does everyone just give their own book 5 stars automatically, since I assume every single person writes the book they wanted to read?