Nothing But Reading Challenges discussion

Comments Showing 1-50 of 72 (72 new)    post a comment »
« previous 1

message 1: by Moderators of NBRC, Challenger-in-Chief (last edited May 20, 2020 01:23PM) (new)

Moderators of NBRC | 30934 comments Mod
Here's the spot to hang out and try and catch the attention of the Quidditch scouts.

If you want to play, toss your name in the ring. You'll probably need to indicate reading speed and preferred roles

Important
To manage expectations, please note that this has historically been a very fast paced game - there are minimum reading time limits for a reason! For the initial matches, which will be lasting 48hours, you need to be a fast reader, or willing to drop everything and read lots!

As time passes we will be working to create a slower paced game and to find teams with equal reading speeds.

message 2: by Chris (last edited May 21, 2020 06:16AM) (new)

Chris Labib | 190 comments Hello, I've never done this before, but it sounds fun!

It takes me between a day and three days to finish a book, and I believe I might function best as a Chaser, Beater, or Reserve!

In a forty-eight hour period (with limited sleep), at my max, I could probably finish three or four 300-400 page books. Of course, the shorter the books, the more I'll be able to finish. I also have access to a variety of titles through digital services. With those two qualities, I'll take whichever role whichever team would take me in!

message 3: by Jammin Jenny (new)

Jammin Jenny (jamminjenny) | 4082 comments I'm ready to play! I'm a fairly fast reader - I read about 1 book/day on average, but can read faster if needed when playing Quidditch!!

My preferred role is probably beater, but I'm a fairly good chaser and okay seeker. Never played keeper position before.

message 4: by Jessi (last edited May 20, 2020 01:05PM) (new)

Jessi (jazzykitty) | 1562 comments Yay!! I'm not very fast at physically reading but I can listen to an audio book at 2.5x - 3x speeds.