Goodreads Authors/Readers discussion

Author Resource Round Table > One editor or multiple editors?

Comments Showing 1-17 of 17 (17 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Amanda (new)

Amanda M. Lyons (amandamlyons) Honestly, it depends on the editor. I advise asking them to tell you their strengths when you hire them, possible also ask for a sample of their work on a few pages of your writing. I'd say use another editor if the first wasn't strong in all areas or you want to rule out line edit errors badly enough that you feel it's worth the expense.

I'm a freelance editor and lead editor US for JEA and, from my experience, 2 edits equal a good, clean manuscript, but you should remember the 2nd editor is usually only needing to do a read through of the previous editor's work. So the question is whether you want to play it safe and catch minor errors or if the first editor didn't quite do the job and you need someone to finish it. I'd say that no one should ever need more than two unless one of the others didn't do a good job and then, I'd ask for my money back.

message 2: by Jim (last edited Nov 02, 2014 02:34PM) (new)

Jim Vuksic | 1072 comments Tammy wrote: "Hello All,

I have an editing question. I’ve already paid for developmental editing, and my editor was simply amazing. My next round of editing will be line editing. My question is, should writers ..."

Tammy,

Most professional editors specialize in a specific type of editing and have honed their skill-set accordingly. You indicate that you are totally satisfied with the results provided by the developmental editor; whose focus was on the concepts, narration, and character/story progression.

It might prove more beneficial to now seek out a reputable copy editor who will focus solely upon techinical aspects such as spelling, punctuation, grammar, vocabulary, and syntax.

message 3: by Justin (new)