21st Century Literature discussion

Kafka on the Shore
This topic is about Kafka on the Shore
2014 Book Discussions > Kafka on the Shore - Chapters 1 through 20 (Spoilers Allowed) November 2014)

Comments Showing 1-50 of 62 (62 new)    post a comment »
« previous 1

Edgarf | 44 comments This thread is for spoilers allowed discussion of Kafka On Shore. I am especially interested about individual views on the use of Myth and Magic. I have been interested so far in the mix of Eastern and Western Culture.

Edgarf | 44 comments As this is my first attempt at leading a discussion please feel free pass your advice on to me either publicly or through private message.

Edgar

Peter Aronson (peteraronson) | 516 comments One question that interests me, is how reliable of a narrator is Nakata? Are the various strange things he reports true, or the product of his (perhaps) damaged mind? I myself am inclined to believe he is reporting as accurately as he is able, even if his understanding is not quite normal. The world of this novel is simply that weird.

But I don't think this weirdness is either myth or magic, but rather that in Murakami's writing, the fantastic and the normal are on equal terms, both equally true.

message 4: by Lacewing (last edited Nov 02, 2014 01:57AM) (new) - rated it 4 stars

Lacewing I'm very much into Buddhism, especially Zen. Also, somewhere or other I read that Murakami's paternal grandfather was a Zen priest.