Goodreads Reviewers' Group discussion

note: This topic has been closed to new comments.
Archive > Should authors 'unlike' unfavourable reviews?

Comments Showing 1-32 of 32 (32 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Lara (new)

Lara | 19 comments As a reader turned writer I've realised the importance of honest reviews and in the last few years have made an effort to review everything I read. I often download freebies and cheap ebooks in search of a diamond in the rough. As a teacher I'm used to writing carefully phrased but honest, constructive reports - which I apply to all my reviews...even the few I've rated 1 or 2 stars.

I recently rated a poorly edited book on Amazon and soon received a 'this comment was unhelpful' vote. I then noticed that all the 4/5 star comments had received one positive vote and all of the 1/2 star comments had a negative vote.

I suspect the author (I won't name names) - do you think this is acceptable and in the right spirit of the system? In the age of blogging and reviewers I think authors need to develop a thick skin.

message 2: by J.D. (new)

J.D. Wright (everealm) | 5 comments If it was the author, I think it was poor taste on their part. No one likes to have their work critiqued in a negative way, but sometimes people have their head in the clouds and don't realize that there is always room for improvement.

I guess it could have also been a fan of the book, pumping up the good reviews and pushing the bad reviews further down. Who knows..

~J.D.W.

message 3: by Roger (new)

Roger Jackson I don't think it should be done either by the author or a zealous fan. Let the readers make their reviews and give their honest opinions. A small number of bad reviews should be expected. There will be people who read your work and just not like it. And there's nothing wrong with saying you don't like it as long as you explain why.