Sci-Fi, fantasy and speculative Indie Authors Review discussion

Group members > New Genre Visually Augmented eBooks

Comments Showing 1-10 of 10 (10 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Jeff (new)

Jeff Buchanan | 8 comments Hello all. Just signed on. I am an internationally published motorcycle journalist, a former filmmaker, and proud first time author of a science-fiction novel.
To curb my edge in the publishing world, I decided to present my first novel in an unusual format. Drawing on my background as a filmmaker I photographed my novel with actors, in stills, and then comped them into sets for a rich, full feel. We then introduced visual FX such as fades and dissolves and added VO and music. The end result is what we're calling Cinenovel.
I would genuinely appreciate feedback on the concept, certainly, with interest in selling books and garnering the much coveted positive review. I must put faith in this group as being compassionate toward such a difficult endeavor as writing. I am starting with you. Please do check it out and perhaps begin a constructive conversation about books, writing, new forms of publishing.

If interested, cinenovel.com

Thank you all,

Jeff

message 2: by David (new)

David Schick (davidschick) | 14 comments Do the images complement the words, or replace them? Either would be very interesting to see, but I would hesitate to use the word "novel" if it lacked words.

message 3: by Jeff (new)

Jeff Buchanan | 8 comments David,

We mix visuals (stills) with a full literary manuscript, so the words are very present, with the text augmented by pictures. In essence, the words compliment the words, and vice versa.

Does that help? take a look at the site to see some static samples, keeping in mind that there are fades and dissolves and sound.

message 4: by Richard (new)